Balbriggan v Ardee in Jenkinson Cup Final

Balbriggan’s IXV played in the Jenkinson Cup final on Sunday April 10th against Ardee. The match was played at Boyne RFC. Balbriggan kicked off the scoring with a penalty scored by Jay Mullen. A further penalty soon after gave Balbriggan a 6 v 0 lead. Connor Burke went over for the first try of the day, after stealing an Ardee line-out. A penalty was awarded to Balbriggan on the re-start, the penalty arising from an incident after the try was scored. Jay Mullen kicked the penalty from the half-way line and this gave Balbriggan a 14 v 0 lead at half-time. Ardee had the benefit of a strong wind for the second half, and scored an early try. They added to this with a penalty mid-way through the second half, leaving Balbriggan with a 14 v 8 lead. An amazing passage of open play with ten minutes to go, saw Dave Healy score a try under the posts. Unfortunately the wind blew the ball off the kicking tee, and the conversion was missed. 19 v 8 to Balbriggan. Ardee struck back with a try in the corner, with just four minutes remaining. The try was converted bringing the score to 19 v 15. The was a very edgy end to the match. Balbriggan defending on their own try line, managed to hold Ardee out. Balbriggan finished their season with another trophy, having started the season winning the Beachy Cup at the same venue. Congratulations to Ciaran, Mal, Con, Leigh and all the team. Sadly this is the last match in Balbriggan colours for Connor Burke and Tommy O’Toole. We are sorry to lose them, but wish them well when they move on. Thanks for all they have done for Balbriggan. Thanks also to Boyne RFC for hosting the Cup final.

Facebook Twitter Email
Astro Hire
Astro Hire
find us on facebook
follow us on twitter